Akinsoji, Usoro, Asoluka, Others For Maritime Legendary Award

Spread the love

The Pioneer Alternate Permanent Representative of Nigeria to International Maritime Organisation(IMO) and seasoned Marine Engineer, Engr Ibukunoluwa Akinsoji and five other notable maritime professionals are to be honoured with the highest maritime industry honour, The Maritime Legendary Award.

In a press statement issued in Lagos on Monday by Platform Reporters, organisers of the award and signed by Mr Sylvanus Obasi, Publisher of Platform Reporters, he stated that Maritime Legendary Award is an industry Honour designed to appreciate and celebrate iconic maritime professionals who have distinguished themselves through outstanding achievements and contributions towards the development of Nigerian maritime sector.

According to Mr Obasi, Consideration for choosing who qualifies for Maritime Legendary Award is based on four key factors, namely:

a. The sustainability of the individual’s achievements or impacts in the maritime sector.

b. Professionalism: The professional commitment and passion exhibited by the individual over the years in the course of his/her work.

c. Iconic: Being a reference point in your field of endeavour.

d. Global: Having a global correlation or effect in the individual’s activities considering that maritime is an international endeavor.

Speaking further, Mr Obasi revealed that after diligent considerations by the Panel of Maritime Analysts (PMA), a group responsible for choosing the awardees, the group has nominated six maritime professionals as recipients of the maiden edition of the prestigious industry Award.

The nominees are: Engr Ibukunoluwa Akinsoji, Pioneer Alternate Permanent Representative of Nigeria to IMO, Barr Mrs Mfon Usoro, Sectretary General of Abuja Memorandum of Understanding on Ports state Control, and Otunba Kunle Folarin, Chairman, Nigerian Ports Consultative Council.

Others include: Dr Chris Asoluka, Former Chairman, Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority, Engr Greg Ogbeifun, Chairman/CEO, Starzs Group as well as Barr Mrs Margaret Orakwusi, Chairman, Morbod Group.

According to the organisers, the Award shall be presented to the recipients at the occasion of the Grand Finale, Face Of Maritime International (FOMI) scheduled to hold this Friday, Nov 23rd, 2018 at Rockview Hotel, Apapa-Lagos by 4pm starting with Red Carpet.

Recall that the Grand Finale of Face Of Maritime International (FOMI) Season 3 will be held in honour of Dr Mrs Fola Rogers, Executive Director, Human Resources and Administration of SIFAX Group.

At the occasion, Dr Rogers would be honoured and decorated as FOMI Role Model Ambassador 2018. This means she would serve as a mentor and role model to the winners/queens of Face Of Maritime International during their one year reign.

Mr Obasi added that the occasion would play host to the high and mighty in the maritime, entertainment, Fashion and Business industries as other iconic celebrities such as Korede Bello, Bryan Okwara, Yomi Casual have also been nominated to receive FOMI Excellence Award.


You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.